Problem creating New Data Source in Pentaho CE 3.8 (Solved)

After installing Pentaho BI Server CE 3.8 and upgraded my java JDK to 1.7,  I wasn’t able to create or edit new data sources. I tried with several connections and very simple queries, I was able to see the results in the preview but when I clicked the “Finish” button I got always the same error. I tried with former versions of Pentaho but I was still getting the same error as can be seen in the following figures

Creating a new data source using the SampleData and a simple SQL query:

sample query
Fig.1 Creating a New Data Source

Data source preview:

result preview
Fig.2 Data Preview

Error message:

error message
Fig.3 Error Message

I just downgrade the JDK version to the 1.6 and that’s it, problem solved.

data source created
Fig.4 Data Source Created

Hope this help you guys.

Leave a comment